top of page

你好,朋友,

桑德拉瓦尼博士

如果你收到这封信,那么我知道我们的道路在某种程度上有过交集,你至少知道我人生故事的一部分。一个白手起家的迷人故事,一个逃离共产主义的难民成为自由之地的入籍公民。

 

出生于二战期间逃离乌克兰的谷仓,在德国成为难民,在美国过渡为移民,然后在充满机遇的土地上实现富足。我经常问上帝,“为什么是我,主啊,为什么这个人生故事适合我?”然后普京战争爆发了,很快就明朗了。

 

我心中乌克兰的那部分心碎了,美国的那部分不顾一切地想做点什么……在我生命中得到的所有丰富的祝福之后,以某种方式回馈我。现在轮到我回馈了。

五月,我去了德国的一个乌克兰难民营当翻译。在那里,我遇到了一些新加坡志愿者;并培养了友谊,这种友谊在 8 月发展成为前往乌克兰和波兰的为期 3 周的旅行。在乌克兰寻找我们可以提供帮助的关键需求是我们的重点。通过已经在当地建立的组织开展工作是场地。 Love on Ukraine (LoU) 的诞生是作为捐赠的渠道。

反复听到的人心中最紧迫的需求就是住房。战争的毁灭性、破坏性影响使人们没有足够的住所或资源来保护自己免受即将到来的严酷冬季天气的影响。

带着几乎同样令人心碎的紧迫感,我们听说了这场战争对成人和儿童造成的情感创伤。在乌克兰人民再次感受到内心的安全和平静之前,需要几代人的大量治疗。

请考虑根据您的心意给予至少以下几页中描述的一项需求。捐赠选项列在演示文稿的末尾。

您忠诚的,

目前的破坏

孩子们看着他们家的废墟——这对孩子来说是多么痛苦的事情啊

Destroyed homes

Machine gun fire on seats and walls

将破坏转化为一种艺术形式

满足冬季需求
DIMA——在 MOSCHUN、BUCHA 及其他地方的“我的家”
“我的家”正在为遭受爆炸袭击的村庄提供冬季住房:

Dima 是一名年轻人,他辞去了建筑工人的工作,开始了“我的家”项目,该项目旨在为 Moschun、Bucha、Irpin 及其他地区的社区提供紧急住房。 “我的家”目前已经建造了 110 个活动板房。迪马还在村庄建立了食物和衣物分发中心,并每月举行两次社区聚会,烧烤晚餐,以鼓励团契和社区意识。 

您可以如何帮助“我的家”计划

请捐钱建造一栋房子、多栋房子或只是房子的一部分。每个预制房屋将在 2 周的时间内交付并安装在一个家庭的住宅地块上。这些房屋可以持续使用 3-5 年,为家庭提供庇护,让他们在开始重建永久性家园的同时度过严冬。

  • 每个预制房屋的成本:4,000 美元从波兰交付并现场安装

  • 安装时间:2 周 – 准备好“入住即住”

  • 便利设施:配备齐全的新生活必需品,包括餐具、银器、咖啡壶

  • 目标:到冬天建造 400 间房屋。

  • 外展活动:每所房屋交付时都会附带一个欢迎袋,里面装有希望的基督教材料和主食。

Newly delivered house

Home lived in for 4 months

满足内心的需要
乌克兰使团 (MTU) 满足最弱势群体的需求

Ira 是一位领导 MTU 的年轻女性。她和她的工作人员孜孜不倦地工作,不仅为最弱势的人——在乌克兰社会中通常没有发言权的人——带来尊严、希望和帮助,而且现在还帮助那些在这些艰难的战争时期受到创伤的人,尤其是儿童。

您如何帮助乌克兰使团 (MTU) 请向 MTU 捐款以满足以下需求:

危机怀孕中心:他们为失去丈夫并在难以置信的艰辛中面临决定人生的决定的孕妇提供服务。他们陪在选择将婴儿足月生产的妇女身边,并在分娩后的 18 个月内提供情感支持和经济援助。

需要帮助的家庭:危机怀孕中心暴露出需要进一步帮助的家庭,例如那些有特殊需要的孩子和他们的兄弟姐妹,他们经常在洗牌中迷失方向,因为家庭正在努力应对特殊人群的高护理要求需要孩子。目前有 500 个这样的家庭得到支持。还有180多个家庭需要各种帮助。

MTU 还与教堂和非营利组织合作,为兄弟姐妹提供夏令营、青年团体活动和课后活动,让他们有机会暂时抛开“成人”家庭责任,重拾童年时光。

Love on Ukraine Team with Ira in the middle in white

以电子方式给予

信用卡或电子支票(对于美国捐助者)

要在线提供免税捐款,请单击此处

(笔记:我们正在利用我丈夫名为 Cities Project Global 的慈善机构来为捐款提供服务。请务必在评论字段中输入 LOU)

  • 当网站出现时,点击“立即捐赠”按钮

  • 选择信用卡或电子支票选项

  • 在表格中填写所需信息

  • 另外一定要输入”楼:我的家“ 或者 ”楼:MTU” 或两者都在表格的评论框中

有关我们在乌克兰工作的更多信息:

如果您想了解更多信息,请亲自给 Sandy 发送电子邮件 SandraDVarney@gmail.com。她会很乐意回应。

国家基督教基金会页面的截图

请检查如下链接,谨防钓鱼网站

使用此按钮链接到那里

通过支票给

通过支票进行免税捐赠:。

  • 支票抬头:全球城市项目*

  • 写 ”楼:我的家“ 或者 ”楼:MTU”在支票的备注行中。 (如果您同时给两者,请分别写两张支票。)

  • 将您的支票发送至Sandra Varney, 10332 Eclipse Lane, Great Falls, VA 22066

有关我们在乌克兰工作的更多信息,请发送电子邮件至 Sandy 个人 SandraDVarney@gmail.com。她会通过电话或电子邮件快速回复。

*Cities Project Global 是我丈夫的慈善组织。他友善地提出通过他的慈善机构处理 Love on Ukraine 的捐款,并承担所有处理费用。这就是为什么在备忘录行上写“LOU”是至关重要的。

来自上帝的个人祝福

一进入乌克兰边界,我就联系亲戚说我的脚正站在乌克兰的土地上。你可以想象我堂兄的震惊和我含泪的喜悦。

 

她坚持要来看我,所以我找到了一个我对团队不挑剔的日子。我的表妹 OIya 和她的一些家人从他们的村庄旅行了 3 个小时,到我在基辅的酒店与我会面。

 

挑战在于乌克兰有 10 点宵禁,所以他们必须在那时回家。

 

重聚的情绪无法形容。在最初的泪流满面之后,我们从 15 年前我最后一次见到他们时停下来的地方跳了下去……从未停止过……拼命地利用我们非常感激的短暂时光。

 

中午,新加坡团队为我的亲戚在酒店找到房间让我感到惊讶,这样他们就不必当天返回。我和我的堂兄 Olya 像两个大学生一样谈天说地地笑到凌晨。

我向我的家人保证,如果战争继续加剧,我不会进入乌克兰。通过不断的祈祷,我知道上帝会指引我的决定。行前我没有联系我在乌克兰的亲戚。

桑迪和奥莉亚
儿子、女儿、儿媳……孙子
只有上帝才能提供这一切!
bottom of page

top of page

Hi Friend,

Dr. Sandra Varney

If you are getting this letter, then I know that our paths have crossed in some way where you know at least a portion of my life’s story. The fascinating story of rags to riches, of a refugee escaping from communism to become a naturalized citizen in the land of the free.

 

Born in a barn fleeing from Ukraine in WWII, becoming a refugee in Germany, transitioning to an immigrant in America and then achieving abundance in the land of opportunity. I often used to ask God, “Why me, Lord, why this life story for me?” Then the Putin war broke out, and it all became clear very quickly.

 

The Ukrainian portion of my heart was heartbroken and the American portion was desperate to do something…to somehow give back after all the abundant blessings I have received in my life. It is now my turn to give back.

In May, I went to be a translator in a Ukrainian refugee camp in Germany. There, I met some Singaporean volunteers; and fostered a friendship that blossomed into a 3 week trip into Ukraine and Poland in August. Finding critical needs in Ukraine where we could help was our focus. Working thru established organizations already on the ground was the venue. Love on Ukraine (LoU) was birthed as the conduit for giving.

The immediate urgent need on people’s hearts that we heard repeatedly was housing. The devastating, destructive effects of the war have left people without adequate shelter or resources to protect themselves from the harsh looming winter weather ahead.

With almost the same heartbreaking urgency, we heard about the emotional trauma that this war has inflicted on adults and children alike. Much healing over several generations will be needed before the Ukrainian people can feel secure peace in their heart again.

Please consider giving as your heart directs to at least one of the needs described in the following pages. Options to donate are listed toward the end of the presentation.

Yours Faithfully,

Present Destruction

Children looking at rubble remains of their home – what a traumatic event for a child to bear

This was someone's home

Machine gun fire on seats and wall

Transforming destruction into an art form

Meeting Needs for Winter
DIMA – “MY HOME” IN MOSCHUN, BUCHA AND BEYOND
“My Home” is providing winter housing for villages devastated by bombings:

Dima is a young man who quit his job as a builder to start My Home project, an initiative to provide emergency housing for the communities of Moschun, Bucha, Irpin and beyond. My Home has currently built 110 prefabricated homes. Dima has also established food and clothing distributions centers in the villages and has held community gatherings over barbeque dinners twice a month to encourage fellowship and a sense of community. 

How You can Help the My Home initiative

Please donate money to build a house, multiple houses or just a portion of a house. Each prefab home will be delivered and installed in a 2 week timeframe on a family’s home lot. These homes can last 3-5 years to shelter families from the harsh winters while they start rebuild their permanent home.

  • Cost of each prefab house: $4,000 delivered from Poland and installed on sit

  • Installation time: 2 weeks – “walk in and live” ready

  • Amenities: fully furnished with new living necessities even dishes, silverware, coffee pot

  • Goal: to build 400 houses by winter.

  • Outreach: a Welcome bag containing Christian material of hope and food staples will come with the delivery of each house.

House newly delivered

Home

lived in

4 months

Meeting Needs of the Heart
Mission to Ukraine (MTU) meets the needs of the most vulnerable

Ira is a young woman who heads up MTU. She and her staff work tirelessly to bring dignity, hope and assistance not only to the most vulnerable people -- people who often have no voice in Ukraine society -- but now also reaching out to people that have been traumatized during these difficult times of war, especially children.

How You Can Help Mission to Ukraine (MTU) Please donate to MTU for the following needs:

Crisis Pregnancy center: They serve pregnant women who have lost their husbands and are facing life defining decisions amidst incredible hardships. They walk beside women who have chosen to carry their babies to term and provide emotional support and financial assistance for 18 months after the birth.

Families in Need of Help: An outcrop from the crisis pregnancy center are families in need of further assistance, such as those with special needs children and their siblings who are often lost in the shuffle as the family struggles with the high care demands of a special needs child. There are 500 such families that are presently being supported. There are another 180 more families in need of various help.

MTU also partners with churches and non-profits to supply summer camps, youth group activities, and after school events for siblings giving them a chance to temporarily set aside their “adult” family responsibility and recapture a few hours of childhood.

Love on Ukraine Team with Ira in the middle in white

Give Electronically

Credit card or e-Check (For US givers)

To give a tax-deductible donation on-line, click here to DONATE

(NOTE: we are utilizing my husbands charity called Cities Project Global to service the donations. Be sure to type LOU on the comment field)

  •     When the website appears, click the “Donate Now” button

  •     Choose Credit Card or e-Check option

  •     Fill-in the needed information on the form

  •     Also be sure to type ”LOU: MyHome” or “LOU: MTU” or both in the comment box on the form

For further information about our work in Ukraine:

If you want further information please email Sandy personally SandraDVarney@gmail.com. She will be delighted to respond.

A screenshot how national Christian foundation page look like

Please check that the link is as follows, beware of phishing sites

Use this button to link there

Give by Check

To give a tax-deductible donation by check:.

  • Make check payable to: Cities Project Global*

  • Write “LOU: MyHome ” or “LOU: MTU” in the memo line on your check. (Write 2 separate checks if you are giving to both.)

  • Send your check(s) to Sandra Varney, 10332 Eclipse Lane, Great Falls, VA 22066

For further information about our work in Ukraine please email Sandy personally SandraDVarney@gmail.com. She will respond quickly by phone or email.

*Cities Project Global is my husband’s charitable organization. He has kindly offered to process Love on Ukraine donations through his charity and absorb all the processing costs. That is why writing “LOU” on the memo line is critical.

My Personal Blessing from God
Son, daughter, daughter-in-law …. grandson

I promised my family that I would NOT enter Ukraine if the war continued to intensify. With continual prayer, I knew God would guide my decision. I did not contact my relatives in Ukraine before the trip.

Once inside the borders of Ukraine, I reached out to my relatives to say that my feet were standing on Ukrainian soil. You can imagine my cousin’s shocked surprise and my tearful delight.

 

She insisted on coming to see me so I found a day where I was not critical to the team. My cousin OIya and some of her family traveled 3 hours from their village to meet me in my hotel in Kiev.

 

The challenge was that Ukraine had a 10 o’clock curfew, so they had to be back home by then.

 

The reunion was emotional beyond description. After an initial flood of tears, we jumped in right where we left off the last time I had seen them 15 years ago….and never stopped… trying desperately to take advantage of our brief time together that we were so grateful for.

 

Midday, the Singaporean team surprised me with getting rooms for my relatives in the hotel so they did not have to travel back the same day. My cousin Olya and I talked and giggled into the early hours of dawn like two college kids.

Sandy & Olya
Only God can provide all this!
bottom of page